Sunday, January 8, 2012

Brown, Bettis & DeBartolo -- NFL HOF Finalists!

The National Football League released the names of the "finalists" for consideration for enshrinement into their Hall of Fame in 2012.  On the list -- again -- are two former Notre Dame football stars;  Heisman Trophy winner Tim Brown and All-American Jerome Bettis.

In addition, Notre Dame alum Eddie DeBartolo, Jr. '68 -- the former owner of the San Francisco 49ers -- also made the list of 17 finalists for the Hall of Fame.

There are currently ten former Notre Dame student-athletes in the NFL Hall of Fame.

Now, it comes down to a vote which will take place next month in Indianapolis.  To be enshrined in the NFL Hall of Fame you must be on at least 80% of the ballots cast by the selection committee.  It's expected that four to seven of the finalists will receive the honor.

Brown & Bettis were finalists for the first-time last year.

Here's a link to the live announcement by the NFL: